Horton R. Shaw Memorial Scholarship

Horton R. Shaw passed away on August 23, 2005. His contributions to the community and youth hockey are significant and in honor of his memory, the Westchester Ice Hockey Officials Association has dedicated an annual memorial scholarship in his name.

Mr. Shaw organized Westchester youth hockey clubs in the 1970’s and had been the Referee-in-Chief / Secretary of the Westchester Ice Hockey Officials Association since 1974.  Setting a standard for training officials for youth programs, high school leagues, college and beyond, while serving on various amateur sports committees.

Each year there will be one recipient of the Horton R. Shaw Scholarship valued at $500.00, awarded based on criteria outlined in the application form.

The recipient must be a college-bound high school senior, who played high school varsity hockey (public or private), and is a WIHOA official in good standing.

Past Award Recipients:

2005-2006:  Michael Tarnow

2007-2008:  Matthew LoConte, Gregory Losee & Michael Messer

2008-2009:  Marc Flory

2009-2010:  Mark Parascandola

2011-2012:  Dan Shea

2012-2013:  Anthony Scapperotti

2013-2014:  John Longo

2014-2015:  Richard Cantwell

2016-2017:  Troy Laurence